Lessons from 22

Coming to terms with the fact that I’m not getting any younger has been hard. I know it only gets worse, but I’m willing to endure (like I have a choice). Whoever said ‘the older you become the wiser you get’ made growing up seem easy. On a personal account, I can attest to knowing much more than I did a year ago. Whether that counts for wisdom, I’m not quite certain. I feel like the more I know, the greater the responsibility, and the greater the responsibility, the greater the mistakes, frusrations and problems. Sometimes I miss ‘not knowing’.
On a much brighter note, there is great beauty in knowing, or so I hope. But seriously, there must be some beauty, right? Anyway, I have learned to find beauty in the dirt, light in utter darkness. It is how come I am writing this. Challenges are only piling up, but I am equally learning some vital life lessons.
Being Twenty Two came as a shock to me. One minute I was blowing six candles on my cake, next thing I know, I’m being added to wedding committees, I’m spending sleepless nights trying to figure out the future of my career life and a mini-me is asking me questions like ‘where is God’.
Where is time running off to? Why won’t I be given a change to just breathe and savour what is going on around me?
Someone, I don’t know who, said time and tide waits for no man. That much I know is true. Its easy to get left behind, to remain stuck in a phase simply because you were hoping time would wait for you.
But 22 taught me better. It showed me the speed at which time was moving and gave me the option of moving just as fast, faster or hanging behind the clock. I’m trying to move ahead. You can bet it is hard! 23 is at my doorstep,yet I feel like I just learned the lyrics to Taylor Swift’s 22!
All in all, it has been great being 22. For one thing, I have had the love and support of family and friends, I am a fully fledged makeup artist with a humble but blessed clientele. I am in my final year at university, I am a blogger! So many great things have taken place during the course of the year. But what I value most are the conversations I have had with my creator. These have taken many forms. Sometimes it was in the form of academic frustrations, other times it was in unpleasant situations. Many times it was in me trying to take the wheel and failing miserably.
Among the many wonderful things I have learned, I wish to never forget to ‘let go and let God’. I urge you all to do the same.
So if you may, join me in toasting to this wonderful gift of life. Glasses up for the mistakes, lessons and subsequent successes we acquire with each passing year.
Finally, I would like to express my deepest gratitude to The Lord Almighty for all my loved ones; my parents, my siblings and all those dear friends that have stuck around for another year.

Here is to being 23! šŸ™‚

image

Leave a comment